u t h p s t r
in His grip, thankfully!

a little late night pick me up from scc!

scc.jpg

another late night of insomnia last night and i got to thinking about life and the many things that worry and overwhelm me. [from time to time it can be a long and scary list] having sleep apnea and not sleeping well hasn’t helped matters one little bit either.

as i was looking for a little late night [3 am] inspiration while talking to God, an old favorite song came to mind. here is the chorus…

More to this Life by Steven Curtis Chapman

But there’s more to this life than living and dying,
More than just trying to make it through the day;
More to this life, more than these eyes alone can see,
And there’s more than this life alone can be.

to me it’s always been a song that resonates with me because i see hope in it.  there IS more to this life.  there IS more than slogging through endless days just trying to make it and eek out an existence. i know this reality because of Christ and i just need reminders of this hope from time to time.

many times i get caught up in routine or laziness that i shortchange myself from really living a fuller life in Christ and a fuller life than i normally do. it’s not a life of success or things, but it’s a life of meaning and of purpose that i’m looking for when i get down.

this all springs up in my mind when i don’t stretch myself, get lazy, eat junk food, stay indoors, watch too much tv and forget to experience life that i get in my moods and stop taking care of myself. i’m tired of feeling sorry for myself and need the proverbial kick in the butt from time to time.

life in Christ and in the world he set us smack dab in the middle of means more of walks in the snow, playing games, challenging and changing routines, thinking theologically, going to the gym, asking forgiveness, meeting new people, sitting in the hot tub, confessing my sins and shortcomings to people that i trust, spending time with dawn, getting beyond my small world, loving people i would normally hate or not want to be around, building my model train, reading more books, being quiet before God, seeing a sunrise, making pancakes, smelling pine trees, getting a puppy, studying God’s word, being at students games and jobs, having some good food that doesn’t kill me and so much more.

sorry for this rambling, but it makes sense to me and the late night jam session on iTunes with good old pick me up classics from steven curtis chapman and michael w. smith were a gift and peaceful flashback during my prayer and bargaining session God.

pax: ty

live-christstickers2.jpg

ps.  i get my cpap machine monday so i can start breathing while i sleep!

No Responses to “a little late night pick me up from scc!”

Leave a Reply

